Cebu teams stamp class in Sagbayan Summer Cup

The Cebu United Football CLub dominated the 17-Under division of the Sagbayan Football Summer Cup at in Sagbayan, Bohol over the weekend, while four other Cebu teams stamped their class in their own divisions.

After topping their respective brackets, CUFC A and CUFC B advanced to the semis with Team A beating Pilar FC, 2-0, thanks to goals by Kem Carin and R.A. Bulagao, while Team beat Bohol United. In the finals, Eugene Molleno, one of the top prospects for keepers in the U16 in the Philippine Football Federation, played the hero’s role with his game-winning penalty stop.

CHAMPION. Cebu United FC coach Bryan Eborda (left) with members of the team that won the Boys 17 division of the Sagbayan Summer Cup.

Aside from Molleno, the other members of the champion squad are Lindley Cueva, Bene Dela Calzada, Dohyun Lee, Javi Sian, Merick Baloria, Charles Ventura, Dada Pernito, Reyven Llamoso, DJ Limosnero and Thomas and Xyrus Marquio. The coaches are Bryan Eborda and
Benjamin Sanchez, while the team sponsors are the Maraquio family, Tunacao Medical Group, Dr. E Molleno, Uriel Marketing and Shell Balamban.

The team’s U15 squad, coached by Manuel Dumangcas, lost out on a semis spot on a penalty shootout after finishing with the same points with Wolves FC.

On the other hand, the Sheba Cebu United, coached by Luis Arriesgado, won the Mixed 13 division via shootout, 1-0, against Gaher.

Cebu Urdujua also brought home two titles, winning the 19-Under girls title over BUFC-Tuloy Sa Pangalo and the, women’s title also over BUFC-Tuloy sa Panglao. The Abellana Alumni brought home the men’s open crown after beating UP-ABCDE FC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *