DBTC is first team to win Cesafi football title via sweep

The Don Bosco Technology Center becomes the first team to win the football title in the Cebu Schools Athletic Foundation via sweep after beating the Sacred Heart School-Ateneo de Cebu, 4-1, on Dec. 8, 2022 at the Cebu City Sports Center.

This year, the high school division adapted the college division’s double round robin format with the team that sweeps all matches earning the title outright. The format has been used in the college division for five years but no team was able to sweep its matches.

In the first round, DBTC beat the University of San Carlos (USC), 2-1, the University of San Jose-Recoletos (USJ-R), 3-0, and Ateneo, 2-0. In the second round, DBTC defeated USJ-R, 4-0, USC, 1-0, and Ateneo.

Carsten Pumareja scored twice against Ateneo, while Joseph Kyne Garces and Janes Benedict Rufin had one each.

As expected, DBTC swept the individual awards with man-of-the-match Carsten Pumareja earning MVP and top scorer honors. Cyril John Christopher Calo was named the best keeper, while Ernest Beringoy got the best midfielder award. Nathan Khail Lingatong was named the best defender.

ALL SMILES. Carsten Pumareja was named man-of-the-match in DBTC’s game against Ateneo and also won the MVP and Best Scorer awards.

In the first game, USC stole third place from USJ-R with a 3-1 win thanks to a hat trick by Theo Jico Libarbes. Merick Baloria got USJ-R ahead in the 14th before Libarbes tallied his goals in the 19th, 44th and 79th minutes.

In the college division, defending champion USC set up a finals date with USJ-R after blanking the University of Cebu, 2-0, with goals from Gian Pastrana and Basti Badayos.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *