DBTC stays perfect, wins Palarong Pambansa Football Bubble tournament crown

The Don Bosco Technical College (DBTC)-Cebu Inc. reaffirmed its status as one of the best teams in Cebu after blanking Don Bosco Boys Home to nab the title in the Palarong Pambansa Football Bubble Tournament at the Cebu City Sports Center.

After a scoreless first half, John Joseph Tabar broke the ice 11 minutes into the second while Richard Songalia got the insurance goal six minutes from time to seal DBTC’s unbeaten run in the tournament.

DBTC PERFECT. Tournament MVP Richard Songalia holds the trophy while CCSC chairman John Pages (left) and CVFA president Rodney Orale (right) join in the celebration. (PHOTO FROM CHAD SONGALIA’S FB ACCOUNT)

A day earlier, DBBH had to scramble on the last minute to seal a seat in the final. After beating Ateneo, 1-0, DBBH needed to win against ANS to bag the second championship slot but found itself trailing, 1-0. Fortunately, a last-minute equalizer sent the match into a shootout, which DBBH won 4-3, despite again trailing early.

Meanwhile, Songalia was named the Most Valuable Player of the tournament for his exemplary leadership, while teammate Gian Renzo Costado got the Best Striker award. Natan Lingatong, also from DBTC, was named Best Defender, while Ralph Legara of DBTC got the Best Goalkeeper award for not conceding a single goal all tournament long. Michael Sinoy of DBBH prevented a DBTC sweep by winning the Best Midfielder award.

BEST OF THE BEST. The individual awardees receive their certificates.

In the battle for third place, Abellana National School salvaged some measure of pride after beating Sacred Heart School-Ateneo de Cebu, 3-0, via a shootout after the two played to a scoreless draw in regulation.

Ateneo didn’t go home without an award though as the Magis Eagles won the Fair Play Award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *