Cebu, BGC top AIA Women’s Kampeon Cup

Tribu Sugbu is a step closer to emulating its male counterparts as it advanced to the semifinals of the AIA Vitality Women’s Kampeon Cup at the McKinley Hill Stadium on April 15. 

WILL IT BE A DOUBLE? The Cebuanas are a step closer to emulating the men’s team’s success in the AIA Kampeon Cup after advancing to the semis. (CONTRIBUTED PHOTO)

Cebu, coached by Alexandra Monica and Reymart Cubon, swept its elimination round matches, beating Batangas, 5-3, and Palawan, 6-0, to arrange a semis meeting with Muntinlupa.

BGC which has former Sacred Heart School-Ateneo de Cebu standout Maegan Alforque, routed Pampanga, 12-1, and Muntinlupa, 5-1, and will face Palawan in the semis.

Cebu is represented by Jolina Colon, Danielle Sofia Daria, Kyza Colina, and Joshpee Halili of Cebu Urduja, Jade Sorig and Pearl Rivera of Forza FC, Ayana Caitera, Michelle Seno of Arkitek’s United, Peeve Layague, Mailyn Lozano, Shandra Colina and Denis Lood of SRFC.

The first two editions of the Men’s Kampeon Cup were won by Cebu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *