CVFA to hold awarding rites for pandemic-interrupted Aboitiz 2020 season

After almost a three-year delay because of the pandemic, the Central Visayas Football Association will finally hold the awarding ceremony for the winners of the interrupted 20th Aboitiz Football Cup on Nov. 19 at the Dynamic Herb Football Stadium.

The Aboitiz Cup was interrupted in February of 2020 because of the Covid lockdowns. For divisions that weren’t able to play all matches, the CVFA used the winner-over-the-other rule to determine the champions, while the last team standings were used to determine the winners of the age group that used the league type format.

TROPHY. Men’s Division 2 champion Erco Bro will finally get their trophy after the CVFA decided to hold the awarding ceremony for the 2020 Aboitiz Cup season.

The winners are DBTC (U7), Giuseppe FC (U10), DBTC A (Boys 12), Sheba FC (Girls 12), DBTC B (Boys 14), SHS-AdC (Boys 16), Sheba FC (Girls 16), DBTC (Boys 18), SHS-AdC (Girls 18), Erco DBTC (Men’s Div. 2), Makoto (Men’s Div. 1), Concentrix (Men’s BPO), E-Performax (Women’s BPO), USC Alumni (Executive), DB United (38-above), and DB Alumni (45 above).

There are also individual winners in some categories. Junjun Fegidero will get the MVP award in the 38-above, while the other awardees are Larry Chew (goalkeeper), Warloo Sabella (midfielder), Hayato Ayabe (defender) and Ronald Loayon and Harold Buot (Golden Boot).

In the Girls 12 division, the individual awardees are Jelena Soon (MVP), Lykae Louella Sing Cueva (midfielder), Gabrielle Acalan (defender) and Pia Jumamoy (Golden Boot), while in the Girls 14 division the winners are Mish Castañares (MVP, golden boot), RoyGen Tingcang (goalkeeper), and Jelena Soon (midfielder).

Sheba FC’s Mark Tabon will also go home with the best defender award in the U10 and the best midfielder award in the Boys 12.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *