AVGCC takes lead in 2 divisions; CCC, Club Filipino also in contention

Alta Vista Golf and Country Club (AVGCC) is off to a great start as two of its squads hold the lead, while two other Cebu teams are in the hunt for a podium finish after the first day of the PAL Interclub Men’s regular tournament on March 1, 2023.

LEADER. Eric Deen had two birdies to lead Cebu Country Club Team 1 to a third-place finish in the Championship Division. CCC Team 1 is just one of five Cebu-based teams in contention for a podium finish after the first round of the PAL Interclub Men’s Regular Tournament. (PAL PHOTO/ALAN TANGCAWAN)

Charlemagne Gaite Yared scored 30 points, bouyed by a birdie on the Par 4 16th hole to tow AVGCC to a a share of the lead after the first round of the Aviators Division at Club Filipino de Cebu. Weiyu Gao and Tae Jung Yun had 25 each, while Charles Tiu had 21. Jong Bum Woo’s 20 wasn’t counted.  Zamboanga Golf also has 101 points, thanks to the 31 points of Bladimir Arcillas, while Sherwood Hills is third with 97.

On the other hand, Cebu Country Club’s Team 2 is fourth at 96 points, with Thomas Castillo leading the charge with 27 points. Miguel Martinez has 24, Ki Hoon Shin scored 22, and Dominic Gotiong had 23.

Action in the Aviators Division shifts to CCC for Days 2 and 3 and AVGCC will be hoping its team in the next two days will be able hold to the lead. Those who are yet to see action for AVGCC are Blake Go, Efren Gica, Marvin Mendoza, Gabriel Yap and Ferdinand Chua. 

DAY 2. Jufil Sato (above) will play for CCC in the second round along with JJ Alvarez, Vincent Osmena, Bayani Garcia and Jacob Cajita. (PAL PHOTO/ALAN TANGCAWAN)

CCC Team 2, whose other members are Julius Pierre Neri, Frederic Chiongbian, Marco Mendoza and Baltaire and Christian Balangauan, is expected to gain ground as the next two rounds will be played on its home course.

AVGCC’s Team 2 is also in the lead in the Friendship Division after tallying 81 points at Club Filipino, thanks to the 25 points of Arnold Gonzalodo. Sin Cross Abarintos had 21, Archibald Villa had 18, while Jeric Abutazil scored 17. The nine points of Jeff Pintac didn’t count. The other members of the team are Jhan Bradlee Uy, Anthony Gonzalodo, Erick Gica, Ronald Capito and Richelieu Ho.

AVGCC Team 2 is just a point ahead of Apo Golf and Eagle Ridge and will look to solidify its lead as action shifts to Cebu Country Club (CCC) for Rounds 2 and 3.

CCC Team 1, meanwhile, scored 126 points at its home field for third place in the Championship Division, trailing Southwoods (141) and Eastridge (127).

VETERAN PLAY. Mark Dy, who helped CCC win numerous Championship and Founders Division titles in the past, had 31 points for the co-host in the first round. (PAL PHOTO/ALAN TANGCAWAN)

Veteran Eric Deen had 34 points, thanks to birdies in the Par 4 10th and Par 5 16th, while Mark Dy and Vincent Osmena had 31 each. Kyu Ok On had 30, while Jon Joseph Alvarez also had 30 but it wasn’t counted. On Day 2 at Club Filipino, CCC, a many-time Championship Division and Founders Division champion, will again bank on Alvarez and Osmena, who will be joined by Jufil Sato, Jacob Cajita, and Bayani Garcia.

Co-host Club Filipino also joined the Cebu-based golf clubs in the hunt for titles as it opened with 102 points in the Sportswriters Division at CCC, three points off leaders Davao City Golf Club.

Calvin Gothong birdied the Par 4 14th to finish with 29 points, Jovi Neri had 27 points and Teodoro Almario and Nilo Seno had 23 each. Rolan Alberto had 21.

We hit our target average scores, so we are happy to be in contention

Jovi Neri, Club Filipino de Cebu

“We hit our target average scores, so we are happy to be in contention,” said Jovi Neri, a many-time member of CCC’s Founders and Championship clinching teams.

Neri said Club Filipino will be fielding Nilo Seno, Leonardo Arevalo, Warren Bedell, Hopsicio Razon and Seung Hyung Baik in the second day at its home course as it hopes to gain some ground against the leaders.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *